Back In Beijing: The Great Wall

Today was a day I’d been waiting for ever since my last trip to Beijing. Last trip was so exhausting that I decided to put off going to the Great Wall of China. This time however, it was my highest sightseeing priority. My friends and I rendezvoused early and navigated the bus system for about an hour in order to get to Mutianyu, a location of the Great Wall that came highly recommended by a friend and colleague of mine. It did not disappoint!


For Christmas last year, my mom gave me a FitBit (the wrist watch you see me wearing in the above picture). Of all the uses it has served thus far, my climbing the Great Wall of China is by far the best one yet! Thanks to it, I know how high I climbed at the wall – 150 stories! During the course of the entire day, I managed to climb even more, and traveled over 20 kilometers! 


Needless to say, we were all thoroughly exhausted once we’d returned to Beijing. My friend Mari’s grandmother was kind enough to cook us a wonderful dinner at her home! 


It was the perfect end to a perfect day. Everything on the table was delicious! After parting ways and arriving at our respective homes, we all slept very well indeed. 

4 thoughts on “Back In Beijing: The Great Wall

    1. It inspired me to do the same… But I haven’t yet. I want to know where it starts, where it ends, and how long it would take to hike all of it that is this in-tact and accessible.

      Like

Leave a Reply

